Sunrise

Sunrise
brings a faint light
to the lake, where
the geese are quiet,
motionless.
My breath-clouds
aggregate and disperse
rhythmically.
I rotate my shoulder
to relieve the
discomfort
from sleeping on it.
I think of my sister.
Of the time we were
both in high school.
When she disappeared
with the boy from
across town, the one
with the scars.
He was trouble.
She didn’t care.
She wouldn’t come
home,
even for her
beloved brother.
It was a burden I could
not shoulder then.
Now of course
I can never bring her
back.
The geese are stirring,
starting to call to
one another.
Lilac tinges the
horizon.

Leave a Reply

