Lost

I am a tour guide,
hopelessly lost
in my own city.
The crowd of
first-time visitors
usher me onward,
pushing me
this way and that,
excitement swelling
as they chatter
knowledgeably,
speaking of landmarks
and cultural buildings
they wish to see next.
Then, steering me
ahead of them –
rudder and motor
to my drifting boat –
the tourists guide me
through an ocean
of concrete,
island hopping,
discovering species,
naming them after friends,
sharing drinks with
indigenous tribes.
All the while my
bewildered expression
declares to the world:
I am a sailor,
hopelessly lost
in my own seas.

Leave a Reply

